Sally Moore Award

Sally Moore was a beloved technology coordinator who passed away too soon. AETA decided to honor her memory by establishing the Sally Moore Award. Each year this award is presented to an active AETA member who has shown a long term dedication to promoting technology in K-12 education and has gone "above and beyond" in supporting technology in their school district and in Alabama. The recipient exhibits extraordinary leadership qualities while willing sharing personal successes (and failures) with others. The recipient of this award will receive a $1000.00 scholarship to be awarded to a deserving student.

Click to download the nomination form for the Sally Moore Award.

This prestigious award has been presented to the following AETA members:

  • 2003 - Donna Williamson
  • 2004 - Fran Pridgeon
  • 2005 - Margaret Blake
  • 2006 - Carol Doucet
  • 2007 - Susan Poling
  • 2008 - Mary Huff
  • 2009 - Tim Southerland
  • 2010 - David Asbury
  • 2011 - Jana Hoggle
  • 2012 - Bruce Ellard
  • 2013 - Dr. Connie Bain
  • 2014 - Susan Chandler
  • 2015-  Anthony Kingston
  • 2016 - Tommy Whitten

Making IT Happen Award

This is an internationally recognized awards program for educators in the field of educational technology integration in K-12 schools. The program identifies and rewards educational technology leaders around the world for their commitment and innovation. Criteria, which the program has historically referred to as the eight components of the "Formula of Success," are in place to assist state, regional, and national and international educational organizations in selecting awardees. The recipient of this award will receive a $1000.00 scholarship to be awarded to a deserving student.

Recipients of the awards are educators who:

  • Apply available technology now
  • Move forward and don't look back
  • See students as real people
  • Teach through relationships, inspiring, and encouraging, nurturing
  • Recognize that further change is necessary, but understand that it is a process
  • Realize that teacher empowerment is the key element to technology integration
  • Expect success
  • Motivate through awareness and access to information

Click to download nomination form for the Making IT Happen Award.

 AETA members who have been honored with this award are:

  • 2006 Carol Doucet, Donna Williamson
  • 2007 Kathy Raines, Davis Brock
  • 2008 Debbie Rice, Lisa Amerson
  • 2009 Shannon Parks, Keith Price
  • 2010 Jerome Browning
  • 2011 Tommy Whitten
  • 2012 Jana Hoggle, Tim Southerland
  • 2013 Chris Hamilton
  • 2014 Susan Poling
  • 2015 Bryan Phillips


Emerging Leadership Award

Like technology itself, the definition of a technology leader is always changing as public education transforms around and through technology. Educators who become technology leaders in their districts serve as instigators, innovators, motivators, and often risk takers. These individuals work tirelessly to help transform their districts.

These emerging stars may go by many different titles, but chances are he or she must be prepared to help educators implement new instructional technologies, handle online assessments, manage student achievement data, oversee cyber security, or keep a system that powers everything from attendance to budgeting to the grading system up and running. This person may not always be the technology director, district technology coordinator, or CTO/CIO.

AETA’s Emerging Leadership Award is designed to honor and recognize emerging stars as described above.

Criteria for this award:

  • Must be AETA member.
  • Must have been employed in public education for a minimum of 2 years.
  • Must not be the current District Level Technology Coordinator, CTO, CIO, or Director
  • Must exhibit the characteristics of a leader.
  • Must be making a significant impact of teaching and learning with technology.
  • Must be nominated by a school system employee and nomination approved by the Superintendent and District Level Technology Coordinator, CTO, CIO, or Director.

Click here to download the form to nominate someone for this award.

Previous Emerging Leadership award winners are:

  • 2014 - Joani Kay
  • 2015 - Kelli Lane
  • 2016 - Lauren Woolley